Indian Railways

Six Facts You Should Know About PNR Status

Whenever passengers book a railway ticket for their journey across India, the IRCTC generates a valid ticket with a PNR printed at the top left corner. The PNR assures that the ticket is booked for the passenger and now he/she can travel with a valid ticket to their destination station. As the journey starts by boarding the train, it’s the PNR number through which every passenger is recognized as it holds the entire journey details.

Passenger Name Record (PNR) is the specific 10-digit number which is placed at the top left corner of every ticket issued by Indian Railways. Ever thought about what these 10-digits reveal and what travel details it conceals about the passengers? If you have no idea of what a PNR number is, then RailMitra will help you find out the intricate details of PNR generated by Indian railways for your train journey.

Here are six facts one should know about PNR Status.

  1. PNR reveals the Passenger Reservation System (PRS): If we break down these numbers, the first three digits of any PNR discloses the PRS, which means the source station from where the ticket was booked. The table below will illustrate the example.
Number Code Zone
1 SCR Secunderabad PRS
2,3 NR, NCR, NWR, NER New Delhi PRS
4,5 SR, SWR, SCR Chennai PRS
6,7 NFR, ECR, ER, ECoR, SER, SECR Kolkata PRS
8,9 CR, WCR, WR Mumbai PRS

Eg. If a ticket is booked from Mumbai, then the PNR will start from the number 8.

2.Random numbers in the PNR:  The seven digits in the PNR is randomly generated by the CRIS. They do not contain any precise or informative ticket detail. These numbers are generated on the ticket just to make them unique and differentiate from each ticket.

3.Validity and Record: The validity of PNR expires as soon as the journey is completed. Once the train reaches to the destination station the PNR is meaningless and no journey is possible with the same PNR.  The PNR lasts for a minimum of 9 months in the record of Indian Railways after which the system flushes the PNR automatically.

4.Details in PNR: The PNR is the only mode to recognize the passenger traveling by train. Railways identify passengers with this unique 10-digit code which includes:

  • Name of the Passenger

  • Ticket details (Date of journey, Source station, destination station, berth number, quota, ID proof numbers, class of the ticket booked etc.)

  • Transaction detail.

5. Types of code displayed while inquiring PNR Status: Whenever a ticket is generated or a PNR status is inquired, there are three different types of codes which can be displayed on the screen. They are:

  • AVAILABLE- This appears only if the seats are available after the ticket is booked.

  • WL- Waiting List: This is the status when the passenger is not allotted with the seat. Eg. WL1, WL 2 or WL7/WL2 which means at the time of booking the status was WL7 and at the time of payment, the waitlist status slips to WL2.

  • RAC- Reservation Against Cancellation: This code appears when Indian Railways provide a sitting arrangement for two passengers in the same seat for the journey. The side lower berth of every compartment is for RAC ticket allotment where two passengers can share seats for their journey. In a long-distance journey, berths are allotted to both RAC passengers depending upon the availability of seats, after few stations.

6. PNR Confirmation Prediction: Technology has made our life easier than before. Indian Railways have adopted digitization and latest AI and machine learning language which can predict your PNR status by validating several parameters. Just enter your PNR number and get the most accurate results about the confirmation of tickets.

Are you planning for a journey to your native for puja celebrations? RailMitra will be your partner for the journey. Check PNR status, train schedule, live running status and order fresh food in train to make your journey merrier.


Recent Post

रेलवे ने कोरोना संकट में पेश की मानवता की मिसाल! बिहार के इस गांव को लिया गोद
रेलवे ने कोरोना संकट में पेश की मानवता की मिसाल! बिहार के इस...
Railways to run On-Demand Parcel Trains for E-commerce Companies
Railways to run On-Demand Parcel Trains for E-commerce Compa...
IRMS: How Will It Change the Face of Indian Railways?
IRMS: How Will It Change the Face of Indian Railways?

Top Categories

Author: Rohit Choubey

Rohit is an avid blogger as well an eminent digital marketeer. He has immense passion towards food blogging. His hobbies include travelling, cooking and watching movies. He is the content analyst for RailMitra.