RailMitra Journey Planner

Offers for You

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.5 by verified customers who ordered food in Train from Railmitra

Read all Reviews...

Recent Testimonials

Frequently Asked Questions

We know that every PNR number has a status associated with it. It might be RAC, Waitlisted, or Confirmed (CNF). Confirmation probability is simply defined as the chances (probability) of getting a ticket confirmed. These’re expressed in percentages like 50%, 70%, 100% etc. If the result is above 80% after PNR enquiry, there’re high chances of getting your tickets confirmed. It’s a scientific prediction. The confirmation probability operates on various factors like:

  • Current trends of the train
  • Rate of ticket bookings
  • Seasonality concerns
  • Quota adjustment systems
  • Choice of Trains: They are classified as the first choice train, second choice train and third choice train depending on the preference of the passengers and ticket availability.

By combining these factors, the confirmation probability ends with a specific value and colour code. The higher probability value will be represented by green followed by yellow and red. E.g., if your status at the time of booking a ticket is W/L 10 GNWL and current status shows W/L 1 GNWL, this means there’re 90% chances of confirmation.

There are several status codes displayed on the screen while checking PNR status online. Some of the codes are:

  • GNWL (General Waiting List): Confirmation probability is higher in this status.
  • CKWL (Tatkal Waiting List): Tatkal waiting list is preferred after the general waiting list is exhausted.
  • RLWL (Remote Location Waiting List)
  • RQWL (Request Waiting List)
  • PQWL (Pooled Quota Waiting List)
  • RLGN (Remote Location General Waiting List)
  • RSWL (Roadside station waiting list)
  • CNF: Confirmed
  • RAC: Reservation Against Cancellation

The first three digits represent the PRS (Passenger Reservation System) from where the ticket is booked. E.g. If your PNR number starts with 2 or 3it means the ticket is issued by New Delhi PRS or if it starts from 6, 7 then it is Eastern Central Railway (ECR) or Kolkata PRS.

No! PNR number is only valid from the date it is generated till the journey ends. However, the PNR number is stored for nine months in the database of Indian Railways (CRIS). 

Tickets of six passengers can be booked in a single PNR, which means a maximum of 6 passengers can be accommodated in a single PNR number while booking tickets.

Yes! You can easily order food of your choice by entering the PNR number in RailMitra’s app for food ordering and select the options among the given variety and order them in a few simple steps. You will get your food delivered on your seat.

No! PNR number is always allotted on reserved tickets. It is allotted for classes like 1AC, 2AC, FC (First Class), 3AC; CC (Chair Car), SL (Sleeper Class) and 2S (second seating).

If you check the PNR status after your journey ends, the status visible will be “Flushed PNR” or “PNR is Flushed” which means the PNR number is no more active neither can it be reused.

There’s a separate cell for PNR number which is located above the transaction ID cell. The first cell on the e-ticket carries the PNR Number for the journey.

No! As the ticket is cancelled, the validity of PNR ends. This means the PNR number is no more active for any train journey.

Whenever any passenger enquires their PNR status online, it displays the departure-arrival timings, coach/seat number, fare details, ticket status and the expected platform number from which the train will depart.

The Code “WEBCAN” means “Railway Counter Ticket Passenger cancelled through internet and Refund not collected” and “WEBCANRF” refer to “Railway Counter Ticket Passenger cancelled through internet and Refund collected”.